Calgary, AB,



CALGARY – The Calgary Police Commission has elected Howie Shikaze as Chair for the upcoming 2016 commission year. The decision was made at the commission’s annual organizational meeting on November 24.

Mr. Shikaze brings a wealth of experience to his role as commission Chair. He was first appointed to the commission in 2010. Prior to his election as Chair, he served as vice-chair of the commission as well as Chair of the finance and audit committee and Chair of the personnel committee. In those roles, he played a significant role in overseeing the spending and auditing of Calgary Police Service and also led the recruitment process to hire Calgary’s newest police chief.

Throughout his 35 year career, Mr. Shikaze owned a successful accounting firm and was a partner at MNP LLP. He is a member and a fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Alberta and a graduate of the Institute of Corporate Directors.

“I am inspired by the opportunity to build on the commission’s achievements and reputation for providing thoughtful civilian oversight to the Calgary Police Service,” said Mr. Shikaze. “I look forward to continuing the collaborative relationship we’ve built with the service over the years. We will continue to hold the service to a high standard. It is because of these high standards that CPS has the overwhelming support and confidence of the community.”

“As we welcome five new commissioners, I would like to thank our departing commissioners – former Chair Rod Fong, Karen Gallagher-Burt, Jonathan Perkins, and Steve Edwards- for their service and dedication to the commission.”

Appointments to the Calgary Police Commission are made by City Council. This year’s commission members, along with Mr. Shikaze are Lisa Silver, Stephanie Felesky, Johnathan Liu, Brian Thiessen, Chris Salmon, Tyler Shandro, Myra D’Souza, Ferdinand Legaspi, and Councillors Diane Colley-Urquhart and Ward Sutherland.

Lisa Silver and Brian Thiessen were elected to the two vice-chairs positions.

For more information about the Calgary Police Commission, visit our website at