Calgary, AB,

Calgary Police Commission Re-Elects Chair

Calgary (Nov 28, 2013) - The Calgary Police Commission has re-elected Rodney (Rod) Fong as Chair for the upcoming 2015 Commission year. The Commission’s annual Organizational Meeting occurred Tuesday, November 25, 2014, in the Calgary Police Commission boardroom. 

Mr. Fong was appointed to the Calgary Police Commission in January 2011. This is his second term as Chair.  Prior to this election, he served as Vice-Chair of the Commission for the 2012 Commission year. Mr. Fong brings a wealth of experience to his role as Commission Chair, including serving as Chair of the Lethbridge Regional Police Commission prior to moving to Calgary. He has previous experience in governance having served as a board member for the Alberta Law Enforcement Response Teams (ALERT), the Alberta Association of Police Governance , the provincial board of directors for Community Savings Credit Union, as President of Lethbridge Family Services, as Vice-Chair of the board of trustees for Lethbridge Public School District 51 and as a Senator for the University of Alberta. Mr. Fong is a lawyer and received his LLB from the University of Calgary in 1991.

“I would like to thank the Commission members for their vote of confidence in my abilities to serve as their chair,” said Mr. Fong. “We had a successful year in 2014 and look forward to working closely with Chief Hanson and his Executive in the implementation of the new Business Plan. We will work hard to maintain the strong confidence that Calgarians have in their police service and to foster our community partnerships and positive relationships between the Calgary Police Service and all levels of government. I know that the Commission, Chief Hanson and City Council are committed to ensuring that Calgarians continue to receive the high level of service which they have come to enjoy and expect from the Calgary Police Service.“

“We would like to thank our departing Commissioners Michael Ervin and Councilor Shane Keating for their dedication to the Commission. We welcome Johnathan Liu and Councilor Ward Sutherland and look forward to their contributions. I would also like to congratulate both Howard Shikaze and Lisa Silver on their re-elections as Vice-Chairs for the upcoming Commission year. ”

Appointments to the Calgary Police Commission are made by City Council. This year’s Commission members, along with Mr. Fong, are: Councilor Diane Colley-Urquhart; Steve Edwards; Stephanie Felesky; Karen Gallagher-Burt; Johnathan Liu; Jonathan Perkins; Howard Shikaze; Lisa Silver; and Councilor Ward Sutherland.

The Calgary Police Commission provides civilian oversight to the Calgary Police Service. Under the Police Act the Calgary Police Commission establishes policies to provide for efficient and effective policing; in consultation with the chief of police, allocates funds provided by City Council; and monitors the complaint process. 

- 30 -

Public Contact Information

Calgary Police Commission
Tel: 403-428-8914