Calgary, AB,

The City is honouring recipients at the 2014 Calgary Awards

The City of Calgary will be presenting the 2014 Calgary Awards to recipients on Wednesday, June 10, 2015 at 7:30 p.m. in the Calgary Municipal Complex Atrium.

The Calgary Awards is The City’s citizen recognition program celebrating Calgarians and local organizations for their outstanding achievements and significant contributions to improve the quality of life in Calgary. Mayor Nenshi and members of City Council will recognize the recipients at the ceremony.

The awards presentation will stream live online at The presentation will also air on Shaw TV, Channel 10 beginning at 7:30 p.m.

The 2014 Calgary Awards recipients are:

The Community Achievement Awards – Recognizes outstanding contributions and achievements in community life.

Citizen of the Year – Rick Hanson
Grant MacEwan Lifetime Achievement – Don Taylor
Arts – Sheri-D Wilson
Arts - Honourable Mention – Catherine Glaser-Climie
Commerce – Big Rock Brewery
Commerce – David Parker
Community Advocate – Rob Taylor
Community Advocate Organization – Calgary Meals on Wheels
Education – Dr. Ronald Glasberg              
Heritage – Douglas E. Cass
Youth – Brett Rothery

The Environmental Achievement Awards - Recognizes environmental achievements in advanced technology, management, conservation, protection, enhancement, education, stewardship and promotion of the city’s environment.

Corporate – Do It Green (DIG)
Educational Institution –  Hillhurst School – Giving Day
Individual – Hayley Marie Todesco

The Signature Award – Recognizes an outstanding individual who has brought significant recognition to Calgary.

Michael Green (Posthumous)

The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize – Recognizes literary achievement by a Calgary author.

 “How to Breathe Underwater: Field Reports From an Age of Radical Change” by Chris Turner, Biblioasis

The Award for Accessibility – Recognizes buildings or facilities that exceed minimum requirements for accessibility for persons with disabilities.

INHOUSE Housing Society – McPherson Place

The Calgary Awards was established in 1994 by The City of Calgary to celebrate and recognize outstanding achievements and contributions made by Calgarians. Each year, individuals, corporations, community groups, schools and organizations are nominated in five major award categories. The City of Calgary encourages all Calgarians to look to their neighbours, colleagues, community leaders and local organizations and businesses for those who could qualify as recipients of the Calgary Awards. For more information visit The City website at