Calgary, AB,

Calgary Fire Department celebrates local heroes

Twenty one Calgarians were honoured for their bravery and decisive actions at a recognition event hosted by the Calgary Fire Department at Fort Calgary today. Fire Chief Steve Dongworth awarded the courageous recipients with certificates of Appreciation, Recognition and medals of Commendation. The recipients were nominated by citizens and members of the Fire Department for their contribution during incidents in the last two years.

“It’s a privilege to recognize these extraordinary citizens today,” said Fire Chief Dongworth. “All of these individuals went above and beyond for their fellow Calgarians—a true reflection of the great city we live in.”

Among the award recipients is Melissa Paquette whose quick actions saved a man’s life when she administered CPR to a fellow transit passenger who collapsed on the platform in December of 2017.

In November of 2016, Dustin Hansen who went into Elliston Lake to save a dog from drowning that had been struck by a vehicle, seriously injured and then ran into the water. The dog was unable to make it back to shore and Dustin saved it from drowning.

Raymond Fang saved a woman from a burning car when he came across a motor vehicle collision on Glenmore Trail in July of 2017. As the door would not open, he had to break the window and pull her out before the fire engulfed the passenger compartment.

Margaret Bell saved a young man who was close to drowning in the Glenmore reservoir one early morning while on her daily walk. 

Every year, the Calgary Fire Department honours citizens and Calgary’s emergency responders for helping others beyond expectation in emergencies attended by the Fire Department. Nominations are considered for recognition by the Fire Department and the type of recognition is based on the situation and extent of the nominees’ actions.

Members of the public can nominate citizens, firefighters or other emergency responders for recognition by contacting 311. For more information on the Calgary Fire Department, please visit

The following is a list of the award recipients who were able to attend today's ceremony:

Appreciation - Recognizes individuals for providing basic first aid or an act of kindness to a victim at an emergency attended by the Calgary Fire Department.

  • Karen Sommerville

Recognition – Acknowledges individuals for their significant effort to help at an emergency attended by the Calgary Fire Department where people or property, were in danger.

  • Brandon Luc
  • Shawna Englund
  • Dustin Hanson
  • Sheldon Burton
  • Kimberley Dueck
  • Kim Fisher
  • Cory Janes
  • Melissa Paquette
  • Shaun Marcia

Commendation/Medal of Bravery – Recognizes individuals for proactively intervening at an emergency attended by the Calgary Fire Department and risking personal injury to save another individual.

  • Sebastian Porter
  • Marc Chartier
  • Sara Hein
  • Junta Goyeche
  • Todd Nabozniak
  • Mackenzie Martineau
  • Kaden Clouston
  • Mike Guitierrez
  • Chelsea Krpan
  • Raymond Fang
  • Margaret Bell