Call for submissions: 2019 Mayor’s Urban Design Awards





CALGARY ­— The City of Calgary is looking for submissions for the 2019 Mayor’s Urban Design Awards (MUDA), which celebrate the most interesting, innovative and well-loved architecture, landscape, and public space design in Calgary.

“Great design is integral to building a great city,” said David Down, chief urban designer with The City of Calgary. “Nurturing a vibrant design culture by recognizing the people behind the creation of our buildings and spaces is central to this."

These biennial awards recognize the contribution of Calgary urban designers, architects, landscape architects, and artists in the following categories:

  • Conceptual or Theoretical Urban Design Projects
  • Urban Design Plans
  • Urban Architecture
  • Civic Design Projects
  • Urban Fragments
  • Community Initiatives Award
  • The Mawson Urban Design Award
  • City Edge Development
  • Great City, Great Design
  • Green City
  • Housing Innovation
  • Student Projects
  • People’s choice – ( details to come fall 2019)

“The importance of well-designed space cannot be overstated. Great design can make people feel welcome, improve safety and accessibility, and create the beautiful, memorable places that bring vitality and value to a city,” said Down.

Eighty-nine submissions showcasing some of the most innovative buildings and public spaces were judged in 2017. Winners included: Fourth Street Underpass Enhancement (the marc boutin architectural collaborative inc.); East Village Junction (Owner: Calgary Municipal Land Corporation; Architect: Nyhoff Architecture); and The New Central Library (Architects: Snøhetta & DIALOG Design).

Submission forms and a full list of award categories are available at Submissions are encouraged until Sept. 9, 2019. The eighth annual Mayor’s Urban Design Awards will be held on October 24 at the Central Public Library.

- 30 -