Nominations now open for 30th Annual Calgary Awards

Mayor Jyoti Gondek is asking Calgarians to nominate outstanding individuals and organizations for the 30th annual Calgary Awards. These inspiring awards recognize Calgarians who generously give their time and talents to make our city incredible.

“Every day I see examples of exemplary character and people in service who work toward a better Calgary,” said Mayor Gondek. “Let’s celebrate and honour these deserving individuals and organizations with a 2024 Calgary Award.”

The Calgary Awards began in 1994 to pay tribute to Calgarians in five categories:

·       Accessibility,

·       The Environment,

·       International Achievement

·       The W.O. Mitchell Book Prize (submission deadline Dec. 1, 2023)

·       Community Achievement:

o   Grant MacEwan Lifetime Achievement

o   Calgarian of the Year 

o   Arts

o   Community Advocate - Individual

o   Community Advocate - Organization

o   Education

o   Heritage

o   Social Impact - Business 

o   Youth

The nomination period ends Jan. 31 and recipients will be announced in June 2024. 

You can find out about award criteria, view videos of past recipients, and fill out online nomination forms at, or email