Nominations are now open for the 29th Annual Calgary Awards

CALGARY – Mayor Gondek is asking Calgarians to nominate an outstanding individual or organization who gives their time and talents to making our city incredible in areas including education, philanthropy, the arts, justice, the environment, and other domains.

“Every day I see examples of exemplary character and people in service who work toward a better Calgary,” said Mayor Gondek. “Let’s celebrate and honour these deserving individuals and organizations with a 2023 Calgary Award.”

The Calgary Awards began in 1994 to pay tribute to Calgarians in five categories:

  • Accessibility,
  • the Environment,
  • International Achievement,
  • Community Achievement, and
  • the W.O. Mitchell Book Prize (submission deadline Dec. 31, 2022)

Within the Community Achievement category, there are nine awards:

  • Grant MacEwan Lifetime Achievement
  • Calgarian of the Year (previously Citizen of the Year)
  • Arts
  • Community Advocate - Individual
  • Community Advocate - Organization
  • Education
  • Heritage
  • Social Impact - Business (previously Commerce)
  • Youth

The Social Impact - Business award will be awarded for the first time to a for-profit business that demonstrates outstanding corporate social responsibility, with special consideration given to social innovation and/or social entrepreneurship.

Jane Wachowich, founder and Executive Director of Youth Centres of Calgary (YCC), was named the 2022 Citizen of the Year for helping give vulnerable youth both a place to “be a kid” and the opportunity for a future where they can be successful and thrive.

Jane Wachowich   

“I can think of no better way to recognize and honour people who do valuable work in this great city than by nominating them for a Calgary Award”, she said.  

The Nomination period ends Feb. 1 and recipients will be announced in June 2023. 

You can find out about Award criteria, view videos of past recipients, and fill out the online nomination form at, or email