Nomination period begins for Calgary Awards

For 26 years, The Calgary Awards have celebrated exceptional achievements and contributions made by Calgarians, and today marks the start of the nomination period.

This is an opportunity for Calgarians to recognize deserving individuals, businesses and organizations that make a difference.

Each year nominations are received in five major award categories:

  • The Community Achievement Awards
  • The Environmental Achievement Award
  • The Signature Award
  • The Award for Accessibility
  • The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize (deadline was December 31, 2019)

There are a total of 13 awards that celebrate the contributions by Calgarians towards making Calgary a better place to live. The City of Calgary encourages all Calgarians to look to their neighbours, colleagues, community leaders and local organizations and businesses for those who could qualify as recipients of the Calgary Awards.

For more information on each award category, eligibility criteria, and previous award recipients, visit

Nominations close Feb. 24, 2020 at 11:59 p.m.